AMU: Debating & Quizzing Achievements

UDLC, as it was known previously or University Debating & Literary Club, Aligarh Muslim University was established in 1973. Wasi Ahmad Nomani was appointed as the first student secretary of the club. The club in reality is the extension of the oldest literary Society of Aligarh Muslim University, the “Mohammadan Anglo Oriental College Literary Society” founded by Sir Syed Ahmad Khan. On 19 August 2015 it was rechristened as the University Debating & Literary club (UDLC). The club is very vibrant and organizes many literary programs throughout the year. After the success of the very first AMU ‘Lit Fest 2.0’ where UDLC had guests of national and international repute UDLC recently introduced parliamentary form of debating, and invited teams from all over India.

Record of Achievements 2016-17

1. Amity I Believe debate season 4 organized by Amity Business School, Lucknow

Best team – Mohd. Umair Khan & Najm Mehdi

Best speaker – Mohd Umair Khan

2. Janak Kapoor All India Memorial Debate, Satyawati College, University of Delhi

Best Team – Neeraj Kaushik & Kushagr Agarwal

Best Speaker (Urdu) – Najm Mehdi

2nd Best Speaker (English) – Kushagr Agarwal

Janak Kapoor Memorial Running Trophy (For 3rd Consecutive year): Neeraj Kaushik, Kushagr Agarwal, Najm Mehdi & Zeeshan Raza

3. Business Quiz, Shivaji University, Delhi University

Winner: Asif Khan

4. 1st All India Mahamana Memorial Debate Competition, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

Best Team (English) – Firoz Khan & Mohd Danyal Faridi

1st Runner-up Team (Hindi) – Syed Adil Kamran & Areesha Khan

5. 2nd Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam National Debate Competition, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi

1st Runner-Team(English)- Firoz Khan & Kushagr Agarwal

6. 32nd Inter-University North Zone Festival, Chhatrapati ShahuJi Maharaj University, Kanpur organized by Ministry of Youth affairs, Government of India

Winner (Quiz) – Asif Khan, Rajnish Kumar Jha & Aasif Akhlaque

Qualified for the National Youth Festival at Kolhapur

7. 6th Dr. Zakir Hussain Memorial National Trilingual Debate, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi

Best Team(Urdu) – Zeeshan Raza & Mateen Ashraf

Best Speaker (Urdu) – Zeeshan Raza

1st Runner up Team (Hindi) – Areesha Khan & Prateek Baghel

2nd Runner up Team (English) – Neeraj Kaushik & Wajahat Monaf Jilani

8. Law College Dehradun National Debate 2017 – “Concours de Debat”, Law College Dehradun, Uttranchal University

Best Team – Firoz Khan & Mohd Danyal Faridi

9. Business Quiz, Hindu College, Delhi University

2nd Runner up: Asif Khan

10. Business Quiz , Delhi University, South Campus

2nd Runner up: Asif Khan & Aasif Akhlaque

11. National Baitbazi competiton, Jashn-e-Rekhta 2017, New Delhi

Semi Finalist: Mohd. Azharuddin & Yusra Jameel

12. Ganges Model United Nations, Varanasi

Special Mention award (2nd Runner up) – Disha Singh

13. Srijan- Genesis of Indian Politics, Amity Law School, Noida

Voice Mention award – Ritika Chaudhary

14. Yuva Parliament, IIM Rohtak

Best Team: Mohd Nabeel Malik

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.